Tropical Bed Scarf and Neckroll

Tropicalbedscarfneckroll

This past week-end was wet and rainy so I deemed myself house bound which gave me the opportunity to finally finish my bed scarf and accent neck roll.   A while back The Marriott Beach Resort had a liquidation sale because of renovations.  We purchased 4 drapery panels in perfect condition. Had them dry cleaned. The lining was a little faded from the sun so I replaced the lining, but other than that the draperies were perfect.   This tropical print is an exclusive screen print by F Schumacher for Marriott.  Many times fabric designers make exclusives for the trade industry.  FSchumacher designer fabrics could run upwards of $50++ a yard.  So I knew I would never have been able to purchase two sets of 95″ floor length, pinch pleated lined, trimmed, designer draperies for….get this $80.

TropicalDraperies2                           Tropicaldraperies

The width of each panel was wide enough that I was able to make two side panels out of one panel for the bedroom patio doors.  The other panel I was able to use for a bed scarf, 2 pillow shams, and 2 Euro pillows. I also used 2  accent fabrics. Tropicalbedscarfnk2a

The bed scarf needed additional fabrics and notions as well:  The bed scarf measures 118″L x 45″W. I wanted it oversized and the fleece back makes it nice and cozy for my toesies. :-). Here’s what I used for the bed scarf.

  1.  One of the drapery panel. Cut to desired measurement.
  2. A red twin fleece blanket purchased from WalMart which is the back and bottom.
  3. A red twin size flat sheet purchased from Walmart, which is the first red inset
  4. Interlining already had
  5. 8″ bullion fringe  purchased on sale from a Fabric Warehouse.

The Neck roll is made from the left over accent fabric I used to make the reversible back of the pillow-case shams and euro pillows. The red silk fabric on the ends of the pillow-case shames is also used as a band on the end of the neck roll.   Neck roll measures 18″L x 8″diameterTropicalNeckroll204 IMG_0878

IMG_0636 (640x400)  IMG_0798 IMG_0796  IMG_0792 IMG_0794

The Neck roll confetti crocheted fringe is playful and I used oversized 2″ button/pins for the tufted ends.  And inserted a lap application zipper for ease removal. The Center Euro pillows has welt piping and invisible zipper.

Over all the tropical bedding set is done. TropicalBedding1

Tropicalneckroll Tropicalbedscarf  Tropicaltabletopper

Can you tell I like …….Red!  If you ever see draperies and love them but can not find bedding to coordinate with them, Just buy an additional drapery panel and make pillows and a bed scarf.  I always keep my down comforter duvet cover white and my sheers white. This way when ever I feel the desire for a change, it’s easier on my budget because I don’t have to purchase a full comforter or duvet cover.   On to the  next project…. Sew, create and enjoy your home!

Tropicalbedscarfneckrollrose

Check out  fabric.com  for beautiful fabric selections and  Houzz.com  for more creative ideas.

 

8 thoughts on “Tropical Bed Scarf and Neckroll

  1. Ok consider me officially hooked on the bed scarf… When should I out my order in? :). I love the tropical look in your bedroom… It would make me feel like I’m always on vacation..

  2. Thanks, Ya know…If I can’t go to the places I love….I create the atmosphere to make me feel like I’m there. Right down to the scented candles. Who knows…next week I may feel like going to Paris! lol lol lol

  3. Those are fabulous high-end drapes. I went to a hotel sale once…but it wasn’t as nice of a hotel. I wanted one of those big brass carts for moving luggage. You were in the right place at the right time. The addition of the color red really gives every other color a kick! Lovely.

  4. Thank you Ginene. We really lucked out with a few other items but “My God”, they had “everything” there you could think of that a 5* resort would have. And yes, the luggage carts. some had wheels off, others scratched up, but fixable. I really wanted to be greedy but my sensible side had a tight hold on my credit card. :-).. Thanks again.

Comments are closed.