Christmas Poinsettias and Palms centerpiece

Merry Christmas!!  I’d like to thank you for visiting and sharing your time visiting with me this year!  It’s been awesome. I’m so glad I’ve discovered blogging, I’m still new and learning.   I’m pretty sure this will be my last post for the year.  All the gifts have been wrapped and sent. All the decorations are in place and I’m not hanging, buying or putting out another thing!  The rest of the year we’ll enjoy the season while giving thanks.   Which leaves me to share this years Christmas centerpiece.

Poinsettias and palm trees was my theme for this year’s Christmas table centerpiece.   In Florida with lovely palm trees and warmer weather I wanted to try to incorporate this into my Christmas centerpiece.  Straying from the traditional red, green and gold I choose white silver and green with a touch of red.   Christmas wouldn’t Christmas without red (my favorite color).  IMG_3322PP I used my Godinger silver art palm tree collection. Added palm leaves to a white poinsettia wreath and placed it under the centerpiece bowl. The bowl is actually a Godinger salad bowl.  More Christmas greenery and just a few silver ornaments were placed in the bowl. And of course the crystal and glass snowflakes hanging from the chandelier. By adding the red poinsettias and red berries, my existing art and draperies blended into the theme. My preference would have been to replace them, but this time $$$ chose not to.

IMG_3326 008PP IMG_3319004PP  IMG_3332 005PP

Keeping the buffet simple. I added three elements. A wreath, a poinsettia and palm floral arrangement and palm candle sticks. The urns and large round center plate behind the wreath I did not remove.

  IMG_3329 001 IMG_3312 PP

The chandelier.  As much as I want to replace with a new…I had to make do.  To dress it up I added red poinsettias. It kind of resembles bells now.   I strung crystal and glass snowflakes. Some made (see here) and some purchased from Pier1 Imports.  Also strung round/circle craft mirrors (a package from Michaels crafts) by gluing monofilament wire between two mirrors back to back. It adds just a little more sparkle.

IMG_2998IMG_2913snowflakelantern   IMG_3310 PP  IMG_2914

I love these snowflake lanterns. I purchased on eBay and the sale proceeds went to the Wounded Warriors Project, which makes it more special. I just started collecting them and will continue. They are quite large and absolutely beautiful on their own.  When you insert a LED tea light, they are stunning. The linen snowflake table runner was purchased from TJMaxx. The bottom white and silver runner I made with fabric purchased from JoAnn’s to give a wider width since I was not doing any place settings.

IMG_3316 002PPChristmas Poinsettias and Palms centerpiece a tad different from the traditional.

I hope you and your family have a beautiful, happy and safe Holiday Season and a wonderful New Year!

Until next year….sew, create and enjoy loving your home! Cheers!CollagePP2014

 

12 thoughts on “Christmas Poinsettias and Palms centerpiece

  1. I agree that Christmas just isn’t the same without a little something-something in red here and there. I had planned to just have greenery with gold and shades of white this year, but when I looked at the final results, I knew red would have to be incorporated somehow.

    I have often thought about how those living in warmer states make the season feel like home. This is a terrific example of how it’s done! The total look and feel of Christmas is there, but with a wonderful twist.

    I wish you and yours a blessed and beautiful Christmas and the happiest New Year!

  2. You did an absolutely marvelous job in creating the perfect tropical winter wonderland. The poinsettias mixed with the tropical leaves were the perfect blend of the two seasons. Your ice crystals flowing in the air brings the festive feel around the room.. Between the paper snowflakes and the ice crystals… Your Christmas decor is beautiful .. I love the table runner as well.. May you and your family have a very Merry Christmas..

  3. Hey there! Thanks so much. I appreciate that! Some of the summer Christmas scenes I’ve seen here in FL are out of this world fabulous, but… Christmas feels more festive in the northern states. Anyhoo…the true meaning and family is what counts. Thanks again. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!!

  4. Hi there!! Thank you! Miss you! In the midst of putting it together I really didn’t know how this was going to turn out, on a dime; so I really appreciate it. I told my husband in no way are these snowflake crystals hanging from this light going to replace getting a new chandelier! He laughed….I’m serious. lol. But I think I’ll have to create more crystal snowflakes. Keeping them up through the winter months was a great idea of yours. Thanks again Kim. You and family have a wonderful holiday season…Cheers!

  5. Linda are you sure you’re not ready to move back to New Jersey to see some real snow flakes????…. you have created a real winter wonderland in Florida! Nonetheless, I like your winter wonderland MUCH better than mine 🙂 it looks lovely!

  6. Linda, I agree that the gloves in your light fixture resemble bells with the added poinsettias. That is awesome! I love your snowflakes and all the details you’ve included. An extra-wide runner is a great idea! Isn’t it wonderful to be able to sew? You are doing very well with your new blog. It took me forever to get mine rolling, or so it seemed. I hope you had wonderful, relaxing times celebrating Christmas during your short blogging break. What a gift you gave to those you love…your time. Happy New Year!

Comments are closed.