Botanical Green Ruffle Table Runner

My current table runner just so happens to be green, and it’s  St. Patrick’s Day.  A nice coincidence.  I wanted to share this Green table runner before I change to a new runner that I’m working on for Spring.

The fabric is by Tommy Bahama.  Called Botanical Glow

IMG_3671

13466107Joanns online 34.99  IMG_3674

I love the Tommy Bahama brand.  I love their concept.

“Make Life one long week-end”.  Practice makes perfect in the art of relaxation.

http://www.tommybahama.com/TBG/About/Who_Is_Tommy_Bahama.jsp

This fabric can retail up to $34.99 a yard.

I had about 1 yard of the Tommy Bahama fabric, left over from a previous job.  The the green floral was actually a round table cloth that I no longer used because of  stain in the center.   And a roll of burlap purchased from Hobby Lobby about $5-6.

The design I chose was inspired by the following ruffle table runners.

CollageRuffle Table runner Although these are made with a different fabric which I like,  I was more interested in the design. The ruffles  I thought are so charming.  I could see these runners in rustic, shabby chic or vintage décor.  My home style is more of a tropical British Colonial, a British West Indies style but adapting this design with tropical fabric was worth a try.

I knew I did not have enough of the Tommy Bahama fabric for the center in order for the ruffle to hang completely off the table as in the inspiration pictures.  I needed the center to be 72″ long which is 2 yards.  But I only had about 1 yard of 54″ wide.

After modifying the design using that round table cloth cut in half to use on both ends, I was pretty please how it turned out. IMG_4685 1C

Next time, I’ll try it again with the right amount of fabric.

If you see something that inspires you, try to create it, give it a try, if it doesn’t quite work out, no big deal… there’s always tomorrow.  🙂

CollageInspiration

Until next time Sew, create and enjoy loving your home.  Collage 1c

 

Here is a brief tutorial:

2016 Note:  In 2016 Ruffle Table runner has been donated to GoodWill
11 thoughts on “Botanical Green Ruffle Table Runner

  1. that looks wonderful! I have been mulling over the whole burlap runner thing for a while now. If I get time this week, I may just give it a try! Thank you so much for the inspiration!

  2. Linda, Oh my gosh, what a unique way to fashion a runner with its gathered and rounded hem. Your dining room looks like Spring incarnate. It is so fresh.
    ~Ginene

  3. Linda, your runner is beautiful, and it fits perfectly with the decor and style of your home! I went the your “trim added” window treatment post to look closer at the tie-back trim, but the comments were closed. I’d already commented on the draperies, but I wanted to say how much I love the ball trim you added to the tie-backs. My next project will have a coordinating trim along the inner edge of the panels. With full sun every day, I want to run the lining out to the edge of the trim to avoid sun damage. I know that’s NOT the way to do it, but I don’t think the lining would show along the inner edge. What do you think? Have you ever done that?

  4. I understand exactly your concern with the sun damage. I have done lining to the front edge meeting the trim. And the lining did not show. The trim I used was a thick brush fringe, over time there was sun damage to the trim, but we replaced and updated the trim. A lot easier then new draperies. And it made for a nice redo for the draperies. Thanks Kim.

Comments are closed.