Holiday Snowflake Placemat to Pillow

Every  Holiday accent pillow I’ve seen I want to buy!  They are all gorgeous, cute, whimsy, pretty…I could go on. Holidaypillow HolidayPillows2 They can get a little pricey because you “need” more than one. 🙂  And sometimes, buying the fabric and notions/trim etc. to make them may cost more than just buying the dang pillow.  One option to save a penny or two, is this easy DIY for a Christmas accent pillow.   You have seen these large felt snowflake placemats…?

snowflakeplacemat  I picked two up a last year from Pier 1 Imports.  They were selling for approx. $2 each.  I decided to use one of the snowflakes as an applique on one of the pillows I purchased from  SteinMart;  A “Sale Paradise”   18″ ultrasuede pillows for $7.98 each.  I could not make a ultrasuede pillow for that price!  So of course this bargain I could not refuse.IMG_7379

I already had these supplies:  The felt snowflake, Swarovski hot-fix flat-back Crystals, a hot fix applicator and fabric glue. Snowflakeplacemats2 CollageflakepillowI used approx. 210 crystals (really).  These pillows did not have a zipper closure, otherwise I would have applied the snowflake on the flat pillow first and slip stitched underneath, then hot-fixed the crystals in place for the correct application.   But since I was not going to open and un-stuff  this pillow, I saturated the back of the snowflake with fabric glue then applied it to the center of pillow.   Drying time approx. 2 hours.  But I let it sit overnight without handling and this method worked out well. 7393snowflakepillow When the rays of the sun shine on the pillow, rainbows and sparkles dance on the walls.  Another reason why I love using Swarovski crystals, their sparkle and shine are incomparable.  I purchase all of my Swarovski crystals at  www.firemountaingems.com  .  Their wholesale prices are great!

7389SnowflakepillowWell the Christmas pillows for our big comfy reading chair are done.  Pier 1 Imports has beautiful Holiday pillows but if you are on a budget like “yours truly” this may give you a few ideas on using the extra holiday placemat as an accent pillow.   Also, if you need some extra bling check out Firemountaingems. com7395Snowflakepillow Until next time…Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful week.  signature

