Old made New – Celebration Cushion

Some days I just want to lay under the old Oak Tree. OakTree I enjoy our garden, yard, patio. I simply love outdoor living spaces.

With that being said………..HAPPY SUMMER!

Yesterday I spent most of my day outside under the Old Oak Tree, reading nestled on remnants of old quilts I  transformed into an indoor/outdoor cushion.    Now, when I lay under the tree, instead of laying on just a blankets, I have a nice cushion for the toosh. :-).  Nothing special… Just Fun!!  But it’s an option to do something with an old quilt, comforter, blanket or throw that you just don’t want to get rid of.

Enjoy the Video:

The round cushion measurement is 40″ diameter.QuiltfloorcushionUTOOT I used Poly-fil purchased at Joanns to make it nice and full. It’s approx. 15″ high off the ground.   I made a detached white cotton lining insert, filled it with the poly and inserted a 36″ overlapping zipper on the back of the cushion.  So when cleaning is needed the top cover comes off easily.   The drum/pillow/ottoman is actually just a draw string cover over a twin size sleeping bag. But it makes a perfect head/back rest.   The original quilt topper that was made of remnants was an 80″ square, approx. 2.5 yards.  I did not have the full original panel by Keith Mallet entitled “Celebration” only remnants so I had to piece what remnants I had  together.  I love the colorful design.Keith Mallett Celebration

Well I’m glad I kept this quilt remnant topper now it’s made to good use.  Also by treating it with Scotch-Guard fabric protectant, using it outside is not a worry.

Do you have an old quilt, comforter or blanket?  This is just one option, don’t throw it to the curb,  throw it out side under the tree. ;-).

Y’all enjoy your summer……………tnUTOOTThanks for stopping by signature

