Fall Basket Décor and Collections

Hey there.  Happy Monday!

I have a few questions for you.  How many collections do you have?  Do you know how many items are in each of your collections?  Are your collections solely decorative or do they serve a function, a purpose?  Gotcha thinking?  Well I had to stop and ask myself the same questions in the midst of shopping for yet another basket.  I love baskets and have a collection of them.  Each basket serves a function on its own.  None are used for multi purposes which means the basket collection keeps growing because I seldom revisit their purpose.

I asked myself  if  I already had a basket that could be use for a Fall arrangement.  Long story short…..I did not surrender to the urge to buy, I came home empty-handed.  I went thru my home,  pulled out every basket to see what if any provisions could be made.  After getting totally frustrated trying to brainstorm which baskets I would combine and which one to select for a Fall arrangement, I gave up and called that very same store to ask the sales person to put that very same basket I was considering on hold because I was on my way to purchase it.  Now my other baskets are back where they started and will continue with their intended purpose.  Sometimes ya just gotta leave things as they are.  Too funny!  Haven’t we all been there!

The basket that caused me to question my collection and buying practice:  Kirklands Woven Crescent Basket  woven-crescent-basketFirst I must say, I love this basket.  Very easy to carry and makes a nice visual accent different from other round, drum or square-shaped baskets.  So far I have used it for many things.  This will be thee one basket to keep without a designated purpose.

I went to a few stores during their Fall sale and loaded up on items.  Joann’s, Hobby Lobby and Michaels

 img_0044falldecor img_0050burlapribbon img_0046fallflowers

Before I did the Fall arrangement which this basket was intended for, I wanted to give the cabana/patio bath a little seasonal décor.  I filled the basket with Fall color bath towels and made a small swag to tie on the side of the handle.

 0060fallbasketswag  0061fallshower

A Fall Bath Towel Basket:  Something simple but gave a neutral bathroom a pop of seasonal colors   0083fallguesttowelbasket

Now with an empty basket I continued on to do the Fall arrangement.  My inspiration came from seeing these beautifully designed basketsinspirationfallviapinterestUsing the rest of the items, foam, moss and glue gun the basket is now complete0102fallcrescentbasket   I placed it on the floor in the Morning/Sun Room0111fallcrescentbasketBut on the console table in front of the window and with my Fox throw for cozy reading sets a welcoming ambiance for Fall.   0125fallcrescentbasketGiving two of the flowers a little bling to coordinate with the burlap ribbon I used the flat back appliques purchased from TotallyDazzled.com.  I used these appliques to also create candle rings for Christmas shown here.     0103flatbackcrystalappliques

This completes my Fall Décor for this year.  By establishing what designers call “seasonal décor hot spots”

  1. The dining room centerpiece and sideboard accents shown here9972fallcenterpiece2016
  2. The breakfast table centerpiece shown here 1a-fallcenterpiecebreakfasttable32015
  3. The morning/sun room console table  0125fallcrescentbasket
  4. The front of the house.  Either a flower-pot arrangement or wreaths     0134fallplanter
  5. The Garden bed in the back yard with just a seasonal flower or two  0069fallfountain

I was able to stay on target and focus without going overboard.  It’s very easy to get overwhelmed with so many beautiful things to choose from to decorate your home.   These five areas will make it possible to add nice small touches to welcome each season and holiday without disrupting the overall décor of my home.  Do you have seasonal décor hot spots?   Many thanks go to AtHomeWithNikki  on YouTube  with tips on Seasonal Décor Organization.  

Until next time…..0131fallcrescentbasket Choose your Season, Spot your area, Decorate it and Enjoy!    🙂 Thanks for stopping by   fallfrontbackgardensignature

