Pillows Worthy of Golden Words

If you love pillows, like I do…grab a few yards of linen fabric, liquid gold leaf, a few Swarovski crystals and create a pillow worthy of golden words.

Awesome Jamala of  VivalaVintageforyourhome.wordpress.com asked if I would  join her and others in doing a DIY project using gold leaf.  Why yes I would.  This was the perfect opportunity to use this technique for a Thanksgiving pillow.  I have never used gold leaf but willing to try the liquid gold leaf “one step application” purchased at Michaels, the cost was approx. $10, which I thought was a better choice for fabric application.

For my inspiration I selected these two pillows:

thankfulpillowzazzlehayneedlethankfulpillow

This one word “Thankful” was the perfect choice.

I first sketched the word freehand in yellow pencil.  After a double coat of paint I tried to give the letters a shadow effect with crystal glitter then I added a twig surrounded by Swarovski crystals for a little bling.  I love the Swarovski crystals purchased from Fire Mountain Gems.  I let it dry overnight and lightly heat pressed it.  The fabric is 100% linen and lined with cotton.

paintingthankfulthankfulpillowI’m thankfully tickled with the outcome.  🙂

img_0391thankfulpillowI created a little video:  “Pillows Worthy of Golden Words”.   Sometimes just a kind word can get us thru the day.

  Please click on the video at the end to enjoy.

 The inspiration for the pumpkin pillows shown were from Pottery Barn and Pier 1 Imports.  Since I already had the linen fabric and fabric paint from other projects, I decided to test my hand at more painting.  I like the color variation on the small beaded pumpkin from Pier 1 Imports, and the watercolors of the Pottery Barn pillow. I’m not an artist by any means but I was willing to try.

inspirationpillows

I had a hard time trying to blend the colors from light to dark.  I added sparkles, silk leaves and a ruffle trim. pumpkinpillowpaintingThe watercolor pillow was not going as well as I would have liked.  I added brush fringe and Swarovski crystals to bling it up a bit.   watercolorpillowpainting Orangepumpkinpillow  watercolorcrystalpillow

Placing them on the lounge chairs gave a nice touch to add more color with the existing cushions

patiolounge2pumpkinpillows

and they also compliment the small bistro setting. Love copper touches for Fall. fallbistrosetting  fallbistrosetting

 

FallpaintedpillowsMy painting is not perfect.  Life is not perfect but there’s always something to be thankful for.

This was indeed a fun project. Gold leafing I never considered doing but glad I tried.  I’ll have to practice my painting  and I think I’ll try another gold leaf DIY too.  Thank you Jamala of VivaLaVintageforyourhome for inviting me and Ginene of FoxandFinchAntiques for planting the golden seed.topthankfulpillow

Thanks for stopping by.  Hope you enjoy the video!!signature

a-crafty-diy-blog-hophttp://vivalavintageforyourhome.wordpress.com
http://foxandfinchantiques.com
http://mjonesstyle.com
http://lindaglovinghome.com
http://confettistyle.com

