Tree Branch Candlestick

Happy November!  For me it’s the best time of the year!

A few weeks back we had to give our big beautiful tree a major trim due to Hurricane Matthew. Tree Trim Treetrimming treetrimcleanup My heart was crushed as we were cleaning the debris.  And this was just the first cut.  But I was not going to let her go without saving a few branches smalltreebranches treebranches

Hubby asked what I was going to do with them. “Art,  my dear, Art”…I really had no clue. But needed what I saved cut into manageable sizes.

The small branches I had an idea inspired by creative DIY bloggers and YouTubers that I follow.  First I had to group them nicely and find a holder.  Easier said than done.  But I found by tapering/carving the ends they fit perfectly in the brass candlesticks I purchased at Good Will for $1.99 (Yup, sure did).  Then secured the branches with E6000. Where the glue shows at the top I ordered super tiny gold seeds as fillers.smallbranchcandlestick

paintedsmallbranchces At first, I was not going to spray paint them at all. I wanted to keep the natural feel. Thought silver since it is my preferred décor metal to go for that mixed metal look,  but decided on gold to tie in with the brass candlestick.

     The candlesticks are a heavy weight which makes it very stable.  Each stands 41″ tall.     smallbranchcandlestick smallbranchvignette treebranchvignetteImagine the creative vignettes.

I have more branches from my lovely old oak tree,  and the creative wheels are turning.  I’ll see ya next week with the rest.  Enjoy your week-end.  Go exploring and save a tree, well a branch or two! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by

signature

