Silver Dollar Centerpiece for January

Happy New Year. Hope you are enjoying the start of a new year!

After the holiday decorations are put away what do you do if you want a Winter centerpiece without it looking like Christmas?

I decided to use the tree branches I saved from Tree branch Candlestick and Another tree branch décor idea.

Hubby brought out the saw and sliced two branches for a runner for me:

       To secured it I attached a board to the bottom with wood glue, and sprayed it with polyurethane.  After spraying it I was not pleased with the coloring but I carried on.  Maybe if I keep it, I’ll go back and stain it.  I scattered glass stone to fill the gaps.

Next for the candle holders, he drilled holes for the tea-lights and cut them to a nice height.

tealightholes

I tried my hand at painting again… for a Birch Bark effect and for the centerpiece branch drilled holes for the silver dollar floral stems. treebranchcenterpieceAdded the finishing touches:

A Silver Dollar Birch Bark Centerpiece for January januarycenterpiece2017crystaldrop  birds tealight candle holders

During the evening with the Chandelier lights, the Silver Dollars really come to life with an iridescent pearl quality.  Silver Dollar BirchBark CenterpieceNow that I look at it, I’m not sure if this centerpiece is better suited for Spring or Winter??  C’est la Vie,  I think I’m done with the tree branches!  This was just my way of preserving the branches and the love I have for my favorite old Oak tree.   Taking what was, preserving its memory and making something new, was a fun and worthy project for me.

Check out Jo-Ann’s January sale on florals,  it’s great.  With coupons the stems cost less than a silver dollar. 🙂  (too funny)

Enjoy your week-end.  Thanks for stopping by…  signature

