The Pouf. Floor Cushions for outdoor living

I am a true die-hard fan of floor cushions.  When I see floor cushions in a space it indicates to me a relaxed, care free atmosphere.  A laid-back style with a touch of fun releasing the formality of decorating.  That speaks volumes to me because I’m a closet Afrocentric Bohemian Hippie. 🙂 I’ll spare you the pictures….

With all that being said, When my daughter asked me to make her and the grands a few floor cushions….Whhhaaat!!  There is some of my blood running through her veins!  (too funny) And she wanted me to use scrap fabric too!! OMG, open the window and release the butterflies… I was in heaven! 🙂

Pier1Imports Pouf

Pouf Inspiration from Pier1Imports

Patchwork pouf

Pouf from Pier1Imports $149.95

Her inspiration was this patchwork pouf from Pier1Imports. Cost $149.95 each.  With three beautiful grand-kiddies, each having one… that not happening.  So Mom/Grandmom to the rescue.

If you like to sew and fiddle with scrap fabric  this is one great way to make use of left over fabric. Or using old clothing from kids or loved ones. No formality here. Poufs has been around for a long time, and will never get old.

I had to make a pattern first. The Amy Butler honey bun pouf pattern that I used  here was not quite what she wanted.   I have always used medical paper purchased from Amazon for making first draft patterns. This paper is cheap less than $10 a roll and could be used for many projects.  By cutting out the diameter first and drawing the pattern directly on the paper then cutting it out worked best for me.  pouf patternI made two different patterns for two sizes.

The first size for the grandkiddies.  A 24″ diameter x 12″ height I felt was large enough for their little bottom. 🙂 poufsFor stuffing I recommend king or standard size bed sleeping pillows if you don’t want to use a ton of Poly-fil.  The sleeping pillows are light weight and easy to remove when washing the pouf cover.  Stuffing them with blankets makes it so heavy and you don’t get the soft round shape as you would when using the sleeping pillows.  I also sprayed them with Scotchguard Protector. (Just a little tidbit of what I do)kidspouf2collagepoufFor the larger pouf she wanted I must confess, I purchased a few prints of fabric from Hobby Lobby to better coordinate with what I had.  It’s just as funky with different prints, but….a totally different vibe.

30″ diameter x 16″height.  Wow!  I think I have lost my mind!!!! blkwhtpoufI was feeling “Liberace” with the candelabra….  blkwhtpoufsetting

blkwhtpoufoverheadWell now that I’ve had my fun with them, off in the mail they go.

If you have scrap fabric (or not) make something fun, functional and funky for your outdoor living space.

Made a little video of a few fun outdoor spaces using floor cushions, poufs and pillows….hope you enjoy. 🙂

signatureThanks for stopping by…Enjoy your week!

