Sea Shell Wind Chime

Another idea for all the beautiful sea shells you are going to collect this summer at the beach.

Last week at the beach while making my path to and from….

Hubby found driftwood covered in clusters of mussels.  I thought what a beauty… a keeper

Brought it home and first I placed it on a silver platter just to marvel over it with the other shells found. Notice the added two pearls..silly me 🙂

The platter I found at Goodwill for $2.99.  Could not believe it.  A few scratches on the flat tray bottom, but that was it.  17″w X 24″long. (posted on Instagram)

After deciding on the layout for the wind chime

I added a few star fish that I already had.

Drilled holes in each shell   I used .015 Dia. monofilament fishing line to string the shells, leaving space between each shell by knotting then triple knotted and hot glued the ends to eye screw hooks secured into the driftwood.

I just had to put a few pearls in there too.

You can see where most of the mussel shells fell off.       Looks so pretty in the early evening

Now that we brought a little of the seashore home on display….I’m seeing a few sea life and coastal outdoor pillows and accessories in the near future.  Well…maybe….we’ll sea.  🙂

Have a wonderful safe week! Thanks for stopping by.

 

